Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal (RPP-Nepal)

Rastriya Prajatantra Party-Nepal (RPP-Nepal)

Brief Introduction:

The only royalist party in the CA 2008, RastriyaPrajatantra Party-Nepal (RPP-Nepal) was formed in 2008. RPP, the mother party of all splinter groups of RPP with history of Panchayat regime, was formed on May 29, 1990 and went on to contest in the first general election after the fall of Panchayat regime.

The RPP initially splitto become two separate RPPs: one led by Surya Bahadur Thapa (RPP-Thapa) and the other led by Lokendra Bahadur Chand (RPP-Chand). Both RPPs shared four seats among them in the 1991 legislative election: RPP-Thapa won one seat while RPP-Chand secured three seats. Both parties united for another parliamentary election in 1994 and bettered the results with 20 seats to its name. RPP split again in and managed to win only 11 seats in the legislative election 1999. In 2004, following KingGyanendra's royal takeover, RPP expelled Kamal Thapa for supporting the unconstitutional move of the monarch. Then to contest inthe CA Election-2008, Thaparegistered RPP-Nepal, a pro-monarchist, cultural conservative, right-wing party that advocated for a Hindu state. 

Constitutional monarchy, Hindu state and people's sovereignty are the main objectives of RPP-Nepal, the only party in Nepal with such objectives.

None of RPP-Nepal's candidates won in CA Election-2008 from FPTP. However, four candidates were elected from PR after RPP-Nepal received 110,519 votes. This is 1.03% of the total valid votes.

President                : Kamal Thapa

Head Office             : Baluwatar, Kathmandu

Ideology                  : Nationalism, Democracy and Liberalism


Have Your Say

Submit Report

Click on Facebook, Twitter, SMS or IVR icon to submit your voice.

Voices from Overseas

View all

Opinion Poll


Photo Gallery View all

Like us on Facebook